Royal Bank of Australia (Boyd's) - Australian private issues banknotes - Notes of Australia - Coins and Australia - Coins and Australia

You are: Home » Banknotes » Private issues » Royal Bank of Australia (Boyd's)

Royal Bank of Australia (Boyd's) - Banknotes

The Royal Bank of Australia, also known by the popular name of (Ben) Boyd's Bank, was established in London in 1840 as a financial vehicle for Benjamin Boyd's vast whaling and pastoral enterprises. The first Australian branch opened in Sydney in 1842. Notes were issued at branches in Adelaide, Hobart Town, Launceston, Melbourne, Sydney and Twofold Bay.

A series of poor pastoral seasons and falsified accounting records led to the bank's failed in 1850. Afterwards, the liquidation took many years to complete.

Share this page:

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay updated.