Bank of Tasmania - Australian private issues banknotes - Notes of Australia - Coins and Australia - Coins and Australia

You are: Home » Banknotes » Private issues » Bank of Tasmania

Bank of Tasmania - Banknotes

The Bank of Tasmania was established in Launceston in 1853. It was a small institution which operated in the northern area of Tasmania.

Poor management left the company in financial difficulties, eventually leading to its reconstruction as the National Bank of Tasmania Limited in 1885, which was, in turn, taken over by the Commercial Bank of Australia Limited in 1918 and is now part of the Westpac Banking Group Limited.

Share this page:

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay updated.